New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the introduction of the gadgets, the way children spend their spare time has altered. I personally believe the use of new technologies in the childhood can bring about more harm than benefit.

In the twenty first century to live without using the means of technology is impossible. Being exposed to the technologies does not always put children at a disadvantage. Most of the required information can be found on the internet without any difficulties that can create better conditions for children to study. In order to finish a project or successfully pass the exam, children these days are opting for the internet rather than books, since they can save time and acquire any information they need. Moreover, there are a variety of websites and applications that can have a great impact on children’s critical thinking and be educational. Online libraries can be another example. They provide a better selection of books than conventional libraries that store century-old books. Being able to find a book suitable for both age and preferences of people makes a huge contribution to the development of young individuals.

On the other hand, there are more disadvantages to list. Firstly, different social media sites are attention-grabbing, meaning that children spend most of their precious time focusing on ridiculous videos or meaningless games. As a result, children may stop paying attention to their homework and waste their time staring at a screen for the whole day. What’s more, games that contain violent acts are becoming more popular, causing antisocial behavior among children. The missions in those games include killing, shooting, stealing from their opponents and winning the game comes only after successfully coping with those missions, influencing children in a catastrophic way.

To sum up, even though there are some advantages of spending time using modern technologies, too much exposure can have a detrimental influence on children, outweighing all of the benefits.