New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Hi-tech has altered the manner in which most children spend their pastime. In my view, although it culminates in many advantages, its drawbacks are far more significant.

On the one hand, up-to-date devices or software applications have made children’s leisure time more efficient and interesting. As there are interactive games, which are mostly related to educational purposes, on the market, it creates a tendency among children. In reality, such games force people to dive into thorough insights, fostering their cognition and logical thinking. In addition, betterments in technology aid children hone their aptitues such as reflex, creativity and visualization. While using applications or playing games, children could respond quickly to any changes, making them think critically and find the congenial way to react to any issue. Ultimately, since most of them are overloaded with home assignments and cannot socialize enough, using chatting programs would be the best method.

On the other hand, I believe there are a myriad of disadvantages to children using new technologies in their leisure time. To begin with, utilizing such electronics may lead to a passive lifestyle with a lot of troubles. Once a child is addicted to games or social media, instead of going outside, he or she will sit at home and enjoy their life. In this regard, obesity, psychological problems, and eyesight problems could threaten their health and well-being. In fact, most children at school suffer from short-sight due to playing games or using Facebook too much. Furthermore, such children may underestimate their studies and fail an exam, which will have detrimental ramifications in the future.

In conclusion, improvements in technology have both advantages and disadvantages; however, I reckon their downsides are far more significant than their upsides.