New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

People’ lives have been changed significantly due to the development of technology, and children are no exception. It is curious about how advanced technological gadgets have changed children’s behaviors in their leisure time. Therefore, in this essay, I am going to present, first, advantages, then, disadvantages of this attitude.

In terms of advantages, there are two. First, advanced technological gadgets are great means for children to explore new knowledge. To illustrate, there are lots of websites and mobile applications for children to study science, languages, and geography. For instance, Duolingo is an application helping people to learn diverse languages with lively design. As a result, this app gives children a sense of interest and motivation to learn languages. Second, the Internet is a tool that helps children connect with people all around the world easily. Especially for some children who live far from their hometowns, the Internet helps them to not only get in touch with their relatives, but also deliver special gifts for their childhood friends.

In terms of disadvantages, there are two. First, without parents’ directions, it is easy for children to be addicted to online games. To demonstrate, there are a number of forms of entertainment, specifically online games. That is why the lack of parents’ guidance lets children be free to spend hours playing these games. As a consequence, children easily have potential health problems, such as eyes. Second, children are not able to develop soft skills because of spending excessive time on the Internet. This is because communicating with others via social media platforms is preferable, so lots of children are shy and self-conscious when talking to others. For example, public speaking skills are crucial for not only adults, but also children. These skills help children to be more confident and outgoing. However, despite understanding the importance of public speaking skills, lots of children still choose contact with others online.

In conclusion, I have discussed some advantages and disadvantages of the impact of advanced technological gadgets on how children spend their leisure time.