News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to write in newspapers. What factors influence these decisions? Do you think we become used to bad news? Should more good news be reported?

Nowadays, news editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to publish in newspapers. There are several factors that can influence these decisions. In my point of view, we become used to bad news, and a lot more good news should be reported for a couple of reasons.

One of the primary reasons why editors write what they want is because of a tendency to have instant popularity. In today’s fast-paced world, many companies including television make money thanks to auditory and popularity, as more people read newspapers, as more profitable the company becomes. Moreover, many editors try to publish bad news to attract more attention from audience. As a result, people are addicted to read more tragic news rather than informative ones. Therefore, editors write on newspapers what they think right because of popularity, which later can profit all the companies and employees.

The major reason why we tend to read more bad news rather than beneficial ones is social media platforms. Today all the information or date are being published on social media or written in newspaper. Numerous of people cannot think critically about what they read or analyses the articles in the internet. Additionally, editors know that if they write some bad news, they can attract more audience. For example, in BBS newspapers now more bad news compared to 100 years ago, all this happening because of politic view of some presidents.

In my opinion, a lot more good news should be reported more frequently as this can shape mental health. These days especially young generation are not mentally healthy, as there is several bad news occur regularly or even 3-4 time daily, in this sense, people are more depressed and stressed. In response to these conservers good news should be prioritize more than bad ones. Another factor is hope. For many teens this feeling is not used as they cannot think about bright future anymore. The felling of anxiety or scariness can be the main reason they stop to hope.

In conclusion, many editors decide what to write or post on social media as they can earn popularity and make profit by doing so. This trend can have irreversible consequences as bad news as there are a lot of bad news out there and we become addicted to them, because of social media and lack of critical thinking. Furthermore, more good news should report because it not only helps younger generation to escape stress and depression, but also gives a sense of hope to the future