News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Is their influence generally positive or negative?

News media accounts for most of life in contemporary world, people receive new information from it. However, it often affects people in negative ways. I will explain the importance and elaborate my personal opinion in the following essay.

In this globalized society, social relations and cultural phenomena generate closer interaction and deeper dependence. It is really important to follow up global issues, such as finance, politic, and culture aspects. As a saying goes, a small leak will sink the great ship, our life filled with various kinds of news that happening around us of the worldwide. Thanks to news media, letting us to become more familiar with modern world, also can get the crucial information immediately.

Nevertheless, news sometimes leads the society into turbulent situation. Because of sensational news are more appeal people’ eyes, editors need to report things which are really attract attetion, but most of them are negative news. Illegal actions, such as violent, robbery or murder, not only make people emotionally depressed or unstable, but also trigger some people to imitate. For example, there was a theif caught by the police for stealing others purse, he claimed that he saw a person theftted but only got a lighter sentence.

News is important and must be reported in our daily life that citizens of the earth can receive messages at any time. Maybe governments should introduce laws about the content of the news, and formulate stricter laws, create an intimidating effect to prevent someone from breaking the them.