News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

It seems like news are becoming more and more popular among people. The significance of news can be found throughout history, and for some people, reading a newspaper became a part of their day. However, some people advocate that modern news are typically unpleasant to read.

The importance of news in history is significant. Througout centuries people used to receive information via news. With time, newspapers would add different sections, such as job articles, weather forecasts and other. For a long time newspapers had monopoly on the market of spreading information. Thus, with time newspapers were digitalized and now news are available on phones and TVs, which made it even more popular. Besides being the main source of information, news became a part of a daily routine for people. For example, Jamie Dimon, CEO of JP Morgan, in one of his interviews mentioned that his moring routine consists of reading financial section of various journals.

There is a debate whether starting a day with a newspaper in hands might not be ideal as it usually contains a lot of negative news. However, newspapers usually have a lot of positive information, but editors choose to put trending news of the front page as something to bring attention to. Imagine two newspapers: one with a screaming title and another one with a boring one. Most people would purchase the first one. News editors know that, and unfortunately they tend to put negative information upfront as it brings more attention. However, as in our lives, negative situations have long-lasting strong impact on us, while positive ones might be forgotten over relatively fast. Such analogy can be applied to the news, as the editors usually combine positive and negative news, but as in life, one negative article may cast a big shadow on a perception of the rest.

In conclusion, the popularity of news correlates with its main purpose – to spread information around the globe, and whether it makes a reader happy or not, the news’ main goal continues.