Not many young people in countries around the world go to and enjoy concerts and plays. Why is this the case? How should they be encouraged to attend?

These days, the youth across the globe take a back seat when it comes to attending live art forms like concerts and plays. This essay will put light on the causes like duration of shows and addiction of youth towards social media, and some feasible solutions such as offering discounts on tickets for youth and promotion via social media to alleviate the problem.

Usually, the duration of the live shows range between one to two hours, whereas the young generations have the tendency to consume more content in lesser time. Social media apps give freedom to the consumer to keep control on what they want to watch and how they want to watch due to this people have the ability to skip the content they are not interested in watching and consuming content at a faster speed. This causes the youth to get addicted to such kind of sources for sake of entertainment and they miss out on experiencing the art forms live. For instance, most of the high school students spend their leisure time in watching reels on Instagram rather than indulging into activities like attending live concerts or cinemas.

Offering discounts on tickets and promoting live events on social media apps can be some of the viable solution to attract youth towards watching live shows. Most of the younger generation comprises of students and recent university graduates who are usually spendthrifts, thus, providing discounts can encourage them to attend concerts and plays. Another way to draw their interest is to promote such events on social media apps popular amongst the youth using digital advertising. For example, Nick Jonas’s concert in India was a huge success with youth as the larger set of attendees, digital advertising being one on the significant factors for the success.

In conclusion, longer durations of the events and addiction of youth towards social media are some notable causes, providing discounts and effective advertisement can be some of the possible solutions.