Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an increasing number of people with health issues resorting to unknown medicines and treatments rather than visiting experts in the medical sector. Personally, I believe this poses significant problems and might be counter-productive, based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

It is understandable why some people opt for those alternatives. Firstly, due to the high costs of medicines and treatments, patients may seek cheaper ways to cure their health problems. Cancer, for example, requires long term treatments with specialized drugs to be cured effectively. Therefore, the costs to pay for the doctors, drugs, and other extra fees included in the healthcare programs can be excessively prohibitive. Considering the fact that cheaper medicines are becoming more common and accessible, some individuals can save more money than purchasing the costly treatments, thus spending that savings on food, clothes, and repayments. Another reason that drives people to try those alternatives is the tempting gimmicks. Everyone with health problems wants to get better as quickly but cheaply as possible. Given this school of thought, some advertisements propose a medicine or a special treatment with discount, and persuade that their products are of high quality. As a result, more and more people believe these ads without knowing exactly whether it is effective or not.

Given such reasons, people should visit their doctors or professionals. Because of their knowledge and years of experience in the medical field, doctors can pinpoint the problems that their patients suffer, give them advice and what drugs they should use. Moreover, experts can offer some possible and cost-effective treatments based on specific situations, thus helping patients to be cured safely and effectively. In addition, facilities at professional hospitals are operated and managed by such experts in order to assist them in the process of detecting, protecting and curing diseases.

In conclusion, I believe that people should visit doctors and experts whenever they suffer from health problems to be advised and cured effectively instead of trying alternative medicines and treatments that are unsafe and might be counter-productive.