Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that today, the number of those who seek alternative treatments instead of conventional ones is increasing. I believe that this is a negative trend, and governments should take measures to address this issue.

There are several reasons why this is an undesirable development. Firstly, many of these unconventional treatments are often not verified through scientific research and thus, may not possess the treating qualities they claim. Secondly, uncertified medicines might have detrimental consequences on their users’ health. For instance, recently in Iran, many alternative pharmaceutical companies faced allegations of adding drugs, such as amphetamines, to their obesity pills, which had severely harmed the health of some patients. Finally, the popularity of some of these treatments gives the public incorrect notions about the validity of modern medicine, which could lead to behaviors such as reluctance to vaccinate their children, therefore endangering their well-being.

In my opinion, governments should address this issue by regulating the market for alternative medicines. For example, by mandating certain certifications, governments can ensure that every treatment available for public use is safe and scientifically validated. Moreover, since many of those who seek unconventional treatments cannot afford other options, by lowering the costs of proper treatments governments can encourage them to use valid options. For example, treating some forms of cancer requires expensive medicines and laboratory tests, which most people cannot access or afford; therefore, by allocating funds to make them more affordable and available, people no longer have to seek other options.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the growing popularity of alternative medical support has detrimental implications and governments should regulate the use of these types of treatments.