Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although medical science has experienced dramatic progress in the last century, some people prefer to seek different treatments rather than scientific methods. Overall, I believe the drawbacks of the increase in using alternative medicines outweigh the benefits and I will illustrate my view in the following paragraphs.

Nowadays, in spite of the growth in biology and medical science, numerous alternative medicines and medical treatments for almost all kinds of diseases can be found all around the world. In addition, it seems people are becoming more and more interested in experiencing these methods. For instance, statistics show that in the last decades, various traditional medical centers have been established in modern megacities in the different regions of the world.

In contrast, the vast majority of the population prefers to use ordinary healthcare services, such as trustworthy hospitals and chemical medicines. The major salient aspect of usual medicines is that they pass a scientific mechanism to produce in pharmaceutical companies. In other words, not only has the production process of medicines been supervised in laboratories, but their side effects have also been studied by academic research. Consequently, usual medicines are always being modified and improved, nevertheless alternative drugs do not pass this procedure. Moreover, although it is widely asserted that alternative medicines such as natural drugs have less side effects than pharmaceutical drugs, research indicates that not only might they have more potential hazards, but they also have higher risks for developing undefined medical conditions.

In brief, weighing up both sides of the argument, I would say that utilizing unscientific treatments cannot be considered a beneficial development, because it might cause various unpredictable side effects and reduce the speed of growth of medical science.