Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The renovation offices with open space design are being widespread globally and minimizing quantity of partitioned workspaces. Despite the negative aspects, including noise and lack of privacy, I am firmly of the opinion the privileges outweigh flaws in terms of maximizing communication skills and openness.

One of the main disadvantages of having an open space office design is the presence of noise in large proportions. The hum of other employees and the ticking sound of keyboards make the hall cluttered and create a sense of rowdiness. In the case of IT specialist who works in a non-traditional designed office works on his new project. While doing his job, he can not concentrate because of the distraction created by others. Outside of noise, invasion of privacy also leads to unstable work. Colleagues passing by often glance quickly to each other’s work and desktops creating a pressure, anxiety and sometimes it may contribute to unhealthy relationships between staff members. For instance, a newly hired worker doing their first assignment and feeling the tension because of constant monitoring. Perhaps it is common for other workers who have been with the team for months to look at others’ projects and share their opinion or give feedback, but for new people in the team it might seem like control over employees. In fact, having an open space layout not only a noisy environment but also generates a charged atmosphere due to shortage of privacy and regular control.

However, I still maintain the belief that pros are dominating over cons. The greatest advantage of having open areas without many physical barriers, such as walls, is the opportunity to enhance social skills. Employees are able to work as a team, pitch concepts, ask for a hand instantly when problem was discovered, and seek guidance. My mother, by way of illustration, works in a workspace structured as an open space layout and after work she enjoys praising their team. She always claims that they are not just team containing colleagues, they are like a family by giving their chief an example of their parent and others are siblings to each other, all of them very affable and cheerful. Additionally, openness in organizations plays on of the huge roles. Employees who demonstrate openness by feeling free to speak their minds, offer opinions, or ask questions without fear of judgement by others. Even Elon Musk affirms that openness improved teamwork and collaboration in Space X company. Also, he mentioned that a sense of trust and respect among team members led to better collaboration and teamwork. In essence, working in an open space area not only boosts communication skills but also creates friendly and trustworthy atmosphere among workers.

To conclude, globalism of open space designed workplaces towards diminishing the amount of separated rooms in offices. I am inclined to believe that profits such as boosting interaction and honesty between team members outmatching some drawbacks like noise or excessive publicity.