Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The layout of many office buildings, today, is being turned into a more spacious area including fewer rooms separated from one another. No matter how beneficial this alteration is expected to become, are there much more drawbacks of it to take into account.

Unlike the past, a greater number of office workplaces are avoided to be designed in a traditional style but accepting the idea of open-space rooms. At a basic level, this, probably, encourages employees to occupy in more friendly atmosphere at work by conversing with their colleagues while working. Simply put, they will not only stand a good chance of accomplishing tasks at scheduled time with an essential aid of the others around them, but also build a stronger relationship with staff members who can be continuously supportive outside the work hours. When the owners of these offices affirm the idea of implementing open-space design, they may aim to attract more clients through such a novel appearance in order to boost the burgeoning business they currently have. In other words, majority of them are willing to utilize this way of designing as a persuasive tool in communicating with the customers since these individuals are prone to deny the possible agreements until they personally see the hardworking performance of the workers in a single room. Therefore, a new style of designing offices is, nowadays, supported by many individuals.

Ignoring the above-mentioned preferences of offices in particular, it is more essential to note that this modification will inevitably bring about several discouraging challenges. First and foremost, it is likely to undervalue the privacy of the personnel in an unfriendly manner. This is because not all employees are accustomed to showing a welcoming response when they are closely observed by strangers visiting the office. Considering the potential noise pollution that may come from the inside the workplace, the workers are also believed to be disturbed effortlessly resulting in a higher level of anxiety and anger along with frequent tiredness they will possibly experience as a consequence. It is no surprise that these disadvantages can lead to perpetual procrastinations at task accomplishments ending with the failures of the employees in the way to build a budding business sooner or later.

In conclusion, while it can be definitely understandable why many offices, today, are projected based on open-space design, the controversial sides of this trend will exclusively serve to the unsuccessful results both owners and workers can ever have.