Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, the deployment of artificial intelligence to operate vehicles has increased. This is due to the rapid advancements in technology and should be seen as a negative development as it poses a significant threat towards a nation’s employment rate.

The public rely on machines due to the latest development in machine learning. This is because AI can learn and analyze database and algorithms through the internet. As a result, software does not need to be programmed but can be learned from dozens of devices online by sharing information with one another. For example, Tesla cars has recently comes up with its new autopilot mode, where cars drive itself and shares its data with all other Tesla vehicles.

Automation should not be welcomed as it greatly affects the workplace by replacing human jobs with robots. Jobs that are monotonous and repetitive such as cashiers, customer service, has been taken over by robots as they can handle these simple tasks easily. Robots are programmed to be able to handle basic inquiries with well execution and minimal errors, which causes employees to lose their job. For example, many fast food restaurants such as Starbucks & McD have now installed self-ordering kiosks, eliminating the need for cashiers.