Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or a negative development?

With the recent technological advancements, we are seeing an integration of artificial intelligence in automobiles, resulting in self-driving cars. This change is a positive development that can free up a lot of our time, and potentially reduce road accidents.

Driving is a time consuming and energy intensive task, whether it’s simply done for running errands or commuting. According to a study, on an average a person spends an equivalent of four years behind the wheel. So it’s safe to say, if a possibility to automate this task exists, it should be availed. The automation of this task saves a significant portion of time and energy each day, especially for those who drive to commute.This new-earned energy and time freedom can be spent on comparitively meaningful activities like reading a book, being present while talking to a loved one or whatever one desires.

Autonomous cars can also drastically reduce road accidents with some estimates suggesting up to 90% reduction in fatalities. This is because a vast majority of road accidents are caused due to human errors like: distraction, speeding, impairment & slow reaction time. With autonomous vehicles being introduced in the scene, these factors are completely eliminated as human judgment is replaced by sensors, cameras and AI resulting in faster reaction times and more consistency thereby reducing accidents.

In conclusion, self-driving cars are a direct result of major technological advancements and specifically progress in the machine-learning sector. This is a great progress that saves extensive amount of time and energy that can be better spent on value adding activities in one’s life.