Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Modern technologies, such artificial intelligence, are exploited to drive vehicles. This happens due to technological advancements and should be seen as a positive development, because it contributes to the reduction of traffic congestion and the prevention of car accidents on the road.

To begin, rapid technological development across fields, including the automotive industry, enables the use of AI in modern cars. Artificial intelligence studies many things simultaneously on the Internet using big data and digital learning processes. Consequently, there is no need to programme it. For instance, Tesla’s third-generation driverless cars constantly improve their driving techniques by learning from millions of pieces of information provided online. Furthermore, it takes into consideration possible situations that might arise while driving, such as accidents and traffic jams.

To continue, AI technology used in vehicles aims to reduce traffic congestion and mitigate road accidents. As a result, more people advocate for the proliferation of AI-driven automobiles, as they consider them a positive development. By exploiting digital data in real time and considering different models, these types of cars may avoid congested areas during rush hours, which will lead to the emergence of traffic jams. A good illustration of this is the recent study by Boston University, which was conducted in Boston, which showed that AI-driven cars try to avoid congestion jams and search for alternative routes, which saves more than an hour for a driver. Moreover, new AI modules used in automobiles tend to caution drivers of the possibility of dangerous situations on the road and react significantly faster when they occur. Recent research concluded that passengers and drivers of AI-driven vehicles are subject to less than 40 % of being involved in road accidents, a significant number that shows the usefulness of such a technology.

In conclusion, AI is wildly applied in modern cars. One of the main factors that contributes to this emerging trend is a rapid technological development and it should be considered as a positive thing because it results in a more fluent traffic patterns with no congestions, and the prevention and mitigation of possible road accidents.