Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, cars are increasingly being operated by artificial intelligence due to the safety it can provide. This development should be viewed positively because it reduces the risk of traffic collisions.

This is occurring because of the safety which AI can give. To elaborate further, AI is being programmed through algorithms and can easily adapt to any conditions that are likely to occur on the road. For example, while people struggle to see during harsh weather conditions, such as fog, rain or snow, AI is equipped with cameras that allow it to see clearly much further.

Cars driven by AI should be welcomed because it significantly reduces the risk of traffic collisions. This means that, unlike humans, AI has very fast reaction time which allows it to successfully prevent any kind of accidents. Recent study showed that most of accidents happened on the road, are because of human errors.

In conclusion, despite the safety AI promotes, it also reduces possibility of car accidents.