Nowadays because of digital technology it is possible for not only studios but also individuals to produce their own films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With modern technology nowadays, producing films is no longer been a task once exclusive to big studios. Although this trend may have a certain number of negative effects, I strongly believe the positive sides outweigh the drawbacks.

Admittedly, this shift has a few negative effects Admittedly, this shift has a few negative effects. If anyone can produce their own films, without proper boundaries, that will indirectly promote inappropriate content such as violence, sexual videos or dangerous pranks, which may cause many harmful consequences, especially on children, who are highly impressionable and adpot behaviours they observe. As a result, children may may develop wrongful views and badly treat to people around. Moreover, when everyone can make films on their own, this easily leads to many low-quality films being rapidly produced by amateur directors. This makes finding a good, quality film an unnecessary challenge for viewers. Not only does this waste viewers’ time, but it also results in harming the movie industry in general.

However, i believe the advantages are more considerable than the disadvantage, especially in terms of promoting creativity and diversity of voices. First, this means social issues will be highly noticeable since all affected citizens can produce films about them, which means filmmaking also serves as a powerful platform to amplify their voices and rights. This matters because big companies or studios, which are mostly built on profit and fame, often ignore those ongoing issues. As a result, social issues become known, helping those issues attract the attention they deserve from the authorities and organizations in order to solve them.

In conclusion, although anyone making films has some negative sides, I believe that this is a positive trend overall because it democratises creativity and opens opportunities for everyone.