Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

At this moment, the governments are investing more resources in public transport rather than building new and repairing old roads. This essay will describe why the merits of this situation totally outweigh demerits.

At first sight the government is choosing such an inefficient way to satisfy humanity’s needs, but if we look into the details the reasons are clear. The primary reason is that pedestrians are way more сommon in many countries. Statistically cars are more difficult to afford,while public transport tickets are much easier to acquire. People in buses and trains usually do not care about the quality of roads. As a result they are buying new trains or public transport,instead of building or repairing asphalt for cars. For instance, the Armenian government decided to buy the trains from Germany,as a result society is enjoying their new public transport. Another benefit is investing money into a transport could give profit right now, whereas building new roads will take a few or even a tens of years. It is undeniable that society requires actions here and now, while such long-term plans could not satisfy the voices of the crowd.

However government decisions also have major drawbacks. One of them is obviously the rising risk of car accidents. Most car accidents are caused by huge hills on highways or even holes in the asphalt. Reckless decisions about roads are establishing new problems that the government did not have before. Another major disadvantage is that the country’s image for tourists significantly worsens. Roads are one of the most important things that attract the attention of many guests of the country, and if the face of the country is broken and inconsistent,this will definitely affect its status and can deter tourists from the outside world.

In conclusion, there are positives which outweigh the negatives. Satisfaction of own citizens is the key to progress.