Nowadays, it seems that different generations within the family spend less time doing activities together. Why is that? Is it positive or negative development?

In the rapidly shifting landscape, the traditional architecture of the family is undergoing a profound paradigm shift as it navigates the tensions between long-standing cultural values and the pressure of hyper-connected, globalized world . One of the most presseng issues is that the quality time family members spending for each other has lessened. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and then discuss this development is predominently negative because this changes the family’s interaction and exert serious impacts on a child’s development.

The primary driver behind the isolated relationship among family members is technological development. With the convenience and flexibility of state-of-the-art gadgets, middle age and young generations almost immerse themselves in the visual world without caring about others. According to some studies, modern devices are the dominant factors, making up nearly a half in total factors. Another factor is the popularity of individualism and enhancement of individual’s social life. People just want to engage in social activities and enlarge their outside social circles. Therefore, the development of technology and individualism are attributed to the popularity of this trend.

This trend can have a negative effects on family members, especially the children, and the elderly. They may suffer from a sense of loneliness and isolation, which can cause mental health disorders if this issue occurs constantly. As studies of Havard University, a lot of old people feel lonely in their extended family and childeren upbringing can be affected due to ignorance of parents, resulting in an unhappy childhood and unsecured future for them. That is why children today becoming more introverted and less engaging in outdoor activities when compared to the past.

In conclusion, the paradigm shift within the modern lifestyles- family reflects the broader evolution of a globalized society attempting to balance progress with tradition. These extermal pressures and digital intrusion immersion pose undeniable challenges to domestic, which negatively affected the life of old generation and the development of young ones. Ultimately, each individual should spend more time for each other, share experience and exchange information, which enables them to boost family bonds and connection.