Nowadays, it seems that different generations within the family spend less time doing activities together. Why is that? Is it positive or negative development?

With the evolution of social norms and cultural values, it has become increasingly commonplace for individuals, especially elderly and younger family members, to engage in less time several family bonding activities. While this situation can be attributed to a confluence of practical and emotional factors, I believe that it largely represents a negative development due to detrimental impact on individuals and society as a whole.

The decline in family interactions with different generations is influenced by practical and emotional considerations. With ever- increasing cost of living worldwide, and the rapid advancement of technologies, and the widespread availability of electronic devices, younger people usually prefer to engage in solitary activities, such as social media browsing, online- gaming let alone arranging family gatherings with their extensive families. In response to such practical factors, younger people feel compelled to set higher goals, set unrealistic expectations, such as enrolling for international universities, running their own entrepreneurship, early marriages, as opposed to elder family members, whose perspectives might not fit in well with their younger children. Emotionally, as a culture of materialism and individualism is accelerating at a similar pace, particularly in younger people, they feel obsessed in purchasing new housing properties or recent model cars, rather than having daily conversations with their parents. Given this weakening family bonds, it seems logical for people that they diminish meaningful interactions and cause several conflicts and lose their importance of the word “family”.

One concern associated with the loss of close- knit family relationships is emotional challenges. With seniors facing mounting pressures of modern life, they tend to encounter financial hardships, such as paying utility bills, health care, insurance, let alone enjoying the rest of their lives. The direct consequences of this are not confined to suffering from chronic psychological diseases, such as loneliness, stress levels, but also extend to working harder even they are getting older to cover these expenses, ultimately decreasing the longevity. A perfect case in point would be Western communities, whose their family structures are likely to settle in separate conditions, irrespective of financial status, most elderly people have developed their own lifestyle with keeping distance from their younger members with the aim of not putting immense pressure on their children.

In conclusion, the decline in family relationships is happening in this fast- paced world. While this situation is driven by practical and emotional factors, I believe that it represents totally negative development.