Nowadays, many families have both parents working. Some working parents believe that other family members like grandparents can take care of their children, while others think childcare centers can provide the best care. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, it is common that both parents in a family are busy working. Some of them are of the opinion that other family members can help look after their children. Others, however, argue that professional childcare centers can offer the most suitable aid. From my perspective, I believe both approaches have its merits and demerits, therefor, it depends on people’s preferences and conditions.

On the one hand, bringing kids to preschools or nursery centers bears certain advantages, especially to parents that are occupied with their work. Since the parents have to deal with tons of work and spend little time to pay attention to their offsprings’ daily life, which could bear a negative impact on children’s overall development, childcare centers would be an ideal place for parents to send their kids to. This is because nursery schools which provide well-schooled education and nurturing to children could ensure the positive state of not only their physical but also mental health through careful support, educational and recreational activities. Moreover, when going to preschools, children could get in touch with their peers in an early stage, which stimulates their ability of communicating, thinking and helps them be more active. However, taking children to childcare centers means that parents need to spend extra amount of money besides utilities bills, renting, eating,… thus putting some families under financial pressure. Furthermore, as there are many other children in the childcare schools, the child-minders can not cover all of them to provide the best care.

On the other hand, it is worth considering the care provided by family members, such as grandparents. On the grounds that family members have a close relationship to the children, they would look after them with all their love and care, which help parents feel secure to dedicate their time and effort to earn money as well as strengthen family bond. Furthermore, having family members look after their children saves a remarkable amount of money for parents as they do not have to pay for childcare fees. Another reason is that babies are inclined to be in fear of strangers, so keeping them in a familiar and warming environment like home reduces the chances of bad situations, for example anxiety, shyness or kidnapping.

In conclusion, there are plus and minus points for both ways of looking for children. The decision depends upon people’s own opinions and conditions.