Nowadays, more and more people are moving from the countryside to cities, which are becoming overcrowded. What are the reasons for this movement to cities and what can be done to reduce it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the last centuries rural areas have become run-down and less populated due to constant migrating from villages to towns. As a result, urban areas have become not only vibrant and cosmopolitan, but also congested and overcrowded. Nowadays, it has led to a common issue requiring to be solved in order to save the planet. In my opinion, this problem remains one of the most crucial and concerning difficulties in our society. In this essay I am going to give a detailed explanation on the cause and provide possible ways to solve it.

The phenomenon of urban migration is driven by a combination of factors mostly related to economics and development. Rural areas experience lack of technologies, infrastructure and advanced facilities, motivating inhabitants to leave in order to get better treatment. In addition, cities, especially metropolises, are often perceived as places full of chances, career prospects, and teeming with vibrant cultural and social life. For instance, plenty of villages in Spain are now becoming dilapidated and empty because of young people leaving their birthplaces looking for a modernity and promising opportunities. Furthermore, the countryside is becoming a place associated with aging and retirement thanks to social media influence, which romanticizes teenagehood and youth in a developing and vigorous city. Overall, this migration leads to overpopulation in urban areas, causing resource distribution issues and burdening the infrastructure.

To mitigate this problem, two approaches can be implied. Firstly, the government can invest more money into the countryside development and facilities. This involves providing advanced healthcare, education and modern technologies. For instance, revamped hospitals and schools can provide plenty of new job places, expanding and improving the job market. Also modern technologies investment is a promising opportunity for attracting young people. Secondly, locals might start cultural campaigns to protect themselves from urban influence. To imply this approach, authentic museums and events can be arranged. For example, farm fairs and festivals provide a good opportunity to earn money and attract tourists. These events are crucial not only for salary, but also for social life, because small communities businesses are experiencing a lack of representation nowadays and being replaced with global corporations.

In conclusion, while urban sustainability is under threat of overpopulation due to constant migration from villages, the countryside becomes more neglected and abandoned. Effective solutions require not only governments involvement and investment, but also local initiative on protecting small communities from urban development. By implementing these measures, the issue can be solved and cities can most likely be less congested.