Nowadays more and more people want to get things done instantly. Why is it? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is an ongoing trend towards individuals getting things finished related to their work and life immediately. While acknowledging the potential benefits for this thinking, I am convinced that this trend might negatively affect individuals and society.

Granted, advocates of achieving all sorts of things at a limited time is worthwhile due to the fast-paced world. With the development of technology, individuals nowadays are bombarded with a plethora of information and are expected to respond quickly to various demands, making them keep themselves updated with news trends in order to make sure that they are not being isolated or left behind. This helps them feel productive in the workplace as they fully dedicate their time and effort to work to finish as soon as possible. As a result, they can have a chance to spend time enjoying personal habits or attending family gatherings and community events. However, this reasoning is flawed as they might decrease the quality of work. This is because when people try to complete tasks too quickly, they may overlook important details or skip necessary steps. For example, rushing a project at work without thoroughly reviewing it can lead to errors, delays, or even financial losses. This, in turn, makes the whole process disrupt or worse still, affecting not only the team but also the company.

This reason is further strengthened by the fact that getting instantly completed might show the lack of responsibility and overlook meaningful things around. For example, fast food, which is a popular food for people, especially those with hectic schedules, known for its convenience and fast, might affect public health in general, contributing to the increase in obese patients. If we focus on our mental and physical well-being, we will spend time cooking nutritious meals and planning healthier diets. That is not to mention that, the information we get immediately through search engines on the Internet will be sometimes misleading if we do not examine before using. Therefore, it is important to balance speed with responsibility in both personal and professional life.

To summarize, while acknowledging the benefit of getting things done instantly, I would contend that this trend might affect an individual’s work and life.