Nowadays more and more people want to get things done instantly. Why is it? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, instant gratification has become a catch-all term, and an increasing number of people are getting used to it. I espouse the notion that this is a detrimental development. This essay will dissect the underlying factors for this phenomenon and present my opinion on this trend.

Notably, there are certain rationales why more and more people want things instantly. The primary reason is the sharp rise of technology. Undoubtedly, in the previous, when modern devices were not available, individuals tended to complete everything by themselves such as looking for information in books, and newspapers, or shopping directly in the market, which wasted a lot of time. However, nowadays, with the dramatic development of science and technology, various inventions have revolutionized the way we live. Smartphones and the internet have made it easier to access information and entertainment, online shopping platforms deliver goods within hours, thus, conditioning us to expect information and services at our fingertips. Consequently, this constant availability breeds an expectation of instant fulfillment.

Nonetheless, I affirm that this phenomenon is a detrimental change. The first incontrovertible drawback is that increasing instant satisfaction can put individuals at higher risk of an extensive variety of medical conditions. Irrefutably, constantly seeking immediate rewards can create anxiety and frustration when things do not happen as quickly as expected. Therefore, individuals who are accustomed to getting instant results may struggle with situations that require patience and delayed gratification, as a result, leaving them highly susceptible to a wide range of mental conditions such as stress and dissatisfaction. The second unquestionable downside is leading to be impatience. Doubtlessly, when people spend quality time doing certain activities such as reading paper books or engaging in complex problem-solving often requiring sustained effort and focus, it can potentially cultivate patience and critical thinking skills. Hence, in various fields, such as education or career progression where success often requires sustained effort and time, if individuals effortlessly meet their demands, it may probably hinder their ability to make thoughtful, deliberate well-considered decisions. Resultantly, this can contribute to shallow thinking, difficulty in long-term projects, and limit their opportunities in the future.

In conclusion, in light of the reasoning aforementioned, I reaffirm that while the rise of instant gratification is driven by technological advances, it exerts a huge severely adverse impact on individuals and society.