Nowadays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face interactions. Is this a positive or negative development?

More and more individuals communicate with each other online, instead of in person. From my perspective, this is a negative development since online socializing may harm both a person’s mental and physical health.

One significant drawback is that virtual communication may lead to social alienation. Before the invention of social media, many people would meet up at specific locations to talk, which helped to strengthen emotional bonds and feel contented, because it created a strong sense of reliability. However, an increase in public’s reliance on digital platforms has led to reduced direct meeting, which results in anxiety and loneliness. Online communications are less personal and engaging for lacking physical presence and contact. In case that people continue to excessively use social media, the number of individuals with feelings of loneliness will witness a substantial increase.

In addition, immoderate use of digital communication may also have significant damage on physical health as well. Owing to the inordinate application of mobile phones, eyes and posture of individuals get damaged significantly, because the blue light emitted from the screens has unfavorable impact on eyes. Moreover, while people text with others, they often have improper seating postures, which can be the cause of some serious spine diseases. For instance, individuals whose screen time is above the preferred daily limit often wear glasses, and have some spinal pathologies. This cannot be seen as a positive trend either.

In conclusion, online communication has many pessimistic effects on one’s both mental and physical health.