Nowadays people around the world are choosing to self-medicate rather than seeing a doctor and using conventional medicine. What are the causes of this change and what effects can be seen as a result?

Today, a lot of people have a very busy lifestyle. Most of them spend their time at work, and because of this, they don’t have the opportunity to visit a doctor. They prefer to treat themselves or don’t pay attention to pain. Unfortunately, because of this trend, many people don’t know the real diagnosis and, as a result, don’t have a correct therapy.

One of the reasons why people choose self-medication is the pace of life. Nowadays, people spend more and more of their time on their job. Especially, it is typical for megacities where people don’t have free time to go to the doctor and check up on their organism. It leads to bad consequences, like ignoring the features of a disorder and progressing the disease.

Another cause of why people choose self-medication is that many regions don’t have free medical services. In many countries, such as Turkey, Spain, Italy, and Uzbekistan, people don’t have the opportunity to visit a doctor because it is too pricey. For example, one consultation with a medical worker costs about 150 dollars, while the monthly income is around 250 dollars. As a result, people prefer to treat at home and save their money.

In my opinion, self-medication should be forbidden. Firstly, it will be able to reduce the number of deaths because of wrong medical treatments. Secondly, if people contact a doctor right away, they will be able to cure at the first stage. Of course, it is impossible to do without the government’s help. They should create a medical system accessible to everyone.