Nowadays, people in some countries can choose to live and work anywhere they want because of the improvement of the transportation and communication technologies. Discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of the phenomenon.

In recent times, people are able to work and live wherever they want due to the advancements in transportation and communication technologies. However, this is not always bring some benefits and could exhibit some drawbacks. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the matter.

One of the major advantages of the remote work, which means people are able to work and live anywhere they want, is the enhanced work-life balance. If people are flexible in terms of their occupation, it would result in spending more time with their family and friends. Hence, this makes people not only more healthy, but also more social beings. For example, according to the researchers remote working decreases the time spent on the traffic, which mitigates the effects of depression. Another benefit of remote working is to allow people access to global job opportunities. Thus, people could be selected into higher-paying jobs. For instance, after the pandemic people had earned more money that results in better life.

Despite these advantages, there are also some disadvantages of the remote working. Although people become more flexible and independent, psychological effect of this isolation should be considered. Fewer interaction in society results in more depressed people. The evidence of this phenomenon observed with increased number of players, who play video games. Perhaps, governments should foster the development of outdoor activities to tackle this issue.

To conclude, improvements in the technology enables better transportation and communication, but these improvements not only bring some benefits like better work-life balance, but also some disadvantages such as fewer social interaction.