Nowadays, people in some countries can choose to live and work anywhere they want because of the improvement of the transportation and communication technologies. Discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of the phenomenon.

Due to the development of different means of transport and communication, people in several countries are being able to choose whether they want to live and work. While there are several disadvantages associated with this phenomenon, I personally think that this development is largely positive.

On the one hand, improved transportation can cause overpopulation in big cities. More specifically, residents in rural areas now have convenient ways to go to urban areas, where job opportunities are much higher than those in remote places; consequently, more and more people will choose to settle in big cities, which leads to overpopulation and some public problems such as congestion and lack of accommodation.

On the other hand, this development can bring several significant benefits for the society. First of all, it enables individuals to do multiple jobs at the same time, especially with females. In the past, most women had to stay at home and do the housework which prevented them from doing their dream jobs; however, thanks to the appearance of online platforms, they can do their job and also take care of their families simultaneously. For example, my mother who is a lecturer at Foreign Trade University now can teach her students at home on Zoom Meetings at the same time when she makes dinner for our family.

In conclusion, improved transport and communication technologies still have some adverse effects on society, I strongly believe that the advantages are much more considerable due to the countless opportunities and conveniences that this development brings.