Nowadays people tend to throw away old items and buy new ones instead. why do people behave in this way?what problems does this cause for individuals and society?

The issue of people getting rid of their unwanted and obsolete stuff has never been more relevant than now. Nevertheless, the consequences of such behaviour can be irreversible, leading to addendum of one more ecological problem.

First of all, the reasons behind this action are evident. People have had some items for a great deal of time; subsequently, these items can’t be in very good shape, nor can they function as well as they used to. Therefore, the need to renew particular things appears, and after buying fresh goods, the old ones tend to be thrown away. This happens since most people don’t understand the opportunities they have besides discarding unnecessary stuff. They can recycle it, sell it to other people, or even donate it to charity. For instance, in my hometown we have a charitable organisation called “Kali laska”, and people can give away unwanted and superfluous things, but only if they are in good condition.

Secondly, it is vital for people to comprehend the consequences their behaviour is causing to the environment. Obviously, the risk of landfill overload will be incresed after removing redundant stuff which is not properly recycled. As we know, most items take hundreds of years to decompose when they end up in a landfill. In addition, burning discarded stuff, especially synthetic ones, releases toxic substances into the air. Hence, the air pollution is evolving, accelerating global warming. People’s own health can be deteriorated by this trend; if one doesn’t think about the environment, one should at least think about oneself. Ultimately, throwing away excessive items can pollute the environment by absorbing moisture and odors from organic waste. Afterwards, these items either rot in landfills or are incinerated. Both options are unsafe for the environment.

To sum up, people’s unawareness of possible solutions regarding discarding obsolete stuff has an impact both on the environment and the individual. The trend of dumping old things for the sake of buying new ones is a problematic phenomenon due to the inevitable effects.