Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

In today’s world bicycles getting lower interest as a form of transport by the people. There are many reasons why the usage of bicycles is decreasing such as the weather, less path and infrastructure in cities, advancement in motorcars, motorcycles, autos, etc. To overcome advanced transportation we have to create an initiative so that people get more interest in this type of transport.

Firstly, the reason behind the low usage of bicycles as a form of transport is that many countries offer new technology to create more efficient and faster travel from one destination to another, for example, China has introduced the fastest train which has a maximum operating speed of 460 km/h. People are getting more interested in this type of technology so that they can travel faster, and save time. But there should be awareness that they don’t have to be fully dependent on these types of technologies because machines or motors have no life they can fail at any time.

Secondly, people can’t use bicycles as a form of transportation in harsh weather, and rainy weather. For cycling, there is a need for energy in harsh weather it will be a more difficult task for cyclers. for example, the East side of Pakistan in summer has a temperature of almost 55 centigrades so people get motor cars as a form of transport. And in many countries, there is no bicycle infrastructure so they can go on paths easily without any hurdles.

To get more attention to this type of transport individual governments have to take the initiative so people get encouraged. Like, For less distance people only can use bicycles rather than a motor car. Countries have to make infrastructure for bicycles so that people get more encouraged.

It can be concluded that the reason behind bicycles’ less usage is the advancement of transportation, less infrastructure, and harsh weather. To encourage people to use this type of transportation government should take the initiative and create infrastructure.