Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

In this modern working industry, the majority of business owners have a firm belief that academic certifications are imperative when recruiting a new workforce for their organizations. There are compelling reasons that contribute to this issue, which they consider too sensitive.

Undoubtedly, individuals who graduate from famous universities have a tendency to be employed in their respective fields with substantial salaries. Additionally, most large companies, such as Cooper Business, require academic qualifications for employment. Because employers want to ensure that new employees can perform challenging tasks, especially in specialized fields like engineering and medicine, which require specialized knowledge, it is important for universities to have a standard learning curriculum and teaching methods. This ensures that the graduation certificate awarded by the university is qualified. As a result, employers can quickly assess the skills of job applicants based on their certificates and the relevant training they have completed. In some cases, job applicants have even been hired without interviews solely based on their academic achievements.

However, academic qualifications have less reliability than practical experiences. Under certain circumstances, newly graduated employees may lack ideas on how to handle crucial work projects. In comparison to experienced employees, they may show lower performance because they need to learn skills from real-life scenarios that are not associated with academics. Conversely, experienced workers have a sense of how to deal with their working positions. For example, in customer service at a supermarket, they know very well how to communicate with customers in order to ensure satisfaction. Thus, choosing workers based solely on their academic performances is inappropriate for certain types of businesses. Instead, they can conduct job interviews and internal examinations related to the workplace to test workers.

In conclusion, while considering the potential benefits of recruiting workers based on their academic performance, practical experience should not be neglected. Evaluating academic performance before hiring employees is essential, and it is neither a positive nor a negative development.