Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

In the modern working industry, recruitments have a tendency to assess applicants whether fit finding positions through their qualifications than personal experience and values. This can be attributed to several factors, and in my opinion, this is a positive development.

There are several explanations as to why more companies prefer looking for new employees with excellent academic achievements than those who have good personal skills and personalities. Firstly, employers can easily assess new staff by their major bachelor degrees or certificates, which is less time-consuming than waiting for their practical training after passing the interview. As a result, newly graduated employees who exhibited considerable ability through their profile could receive more opportunity. A second reason why people should enhance their academic results is that most complex fields, such as doctor or IT, require applicants with relevant degrees and in-depth knowledge about these jobs. In fact, there have been no doctors or teachers who can pursue a professional career ladder without dedicating time or energy to study hard at university.

In industrial life, possessing great scholastic accomplishments brings many positive impacts for individuals and society as a whole. The first merit is that harsher requirements about academic results encourage students to strive in their studies. Simply put, if they hope to earn substantial salaries after school, they must have a great performance with the employers, judging by their degrees and certificates, in order to compete with other counterparts. Another advantage worth mentioning is that inhabitants with higher educational levels make a contribution to building up a solid foundation of knowledge and development for society.

In conclusion, many reasons can be given to explain why formal academic qualifications outweigh employees’ skills and personalities nowadays. I am of the opinion that this can provide people and society with great advantages.