Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

In today’s world, firms are recruiting new employer based on their educational qualifications rather than their experience and personal traits. In their prospective, collage and universities are more valuable the personal experience. In my opinion. it has negative development.

Human resource team of the company considers candidate degree and certificate regarding the field, and company requirements as this is the way to access the person’s knowledge about the field. Some jobs fields requires such as, information technology or engineering, they hire the employees; who must have studied in their respective fields, as well as some medical field like biochemistry or pharmacy; they need practical as well as theoretical practice in this field to qualify for any related job, which is only attainable if they have degrees in these fields. Another reason that the employees prefer qualification over experience is that, in order to obtain an academic degree, a student has put a lot of time in learning, determination and consistency as well as patience. Therefore the company hire such people because they access their hard working capabilities and patience to work under any circumstances. As for the individual applying for a job, having a degree and higher level of education is the surety of successfully attaining a secure job.

On the other hand, a fresh graduate who may not have any experience or working skills, May effects company’s productivity and cause company to lose their customer. The HR teams have to initiate many training programs for their new employees in order to give them knowledge about their product and services, which can be very costly and time consuming. However, life experience and trails are very important because it help people to solve difficulty situation effectively, and therefore, this helps improve productivity. Personal qualities are also very essential to access when hiring an employee because dishonest and no serious attitude will have negative effects on company reputation and performance.

In the end, I would suggest that companies should consider person’s academic qualification more than their expertise if they want to boost their business. Considering only the personal experience and qualities is a negative development.