Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

In the modern era, some employees are of the opinion that formal qualifications are considered to be more essential than hands-on experience and personal traits when they seek new candidates. This essay will shed light on the factors behind this tendency and explain why this is a negative development.

Firstly, there are two main facors to elucidate why job recruiters prefer academic qualifications to life experiences when hiring new employees. In this day and age, there are many professional careers that require highly-qualified and expertised knowledge, so formal qualifications are the top priority of many employers when selecting new applicants. For example, in order to become a doctor, a candidate has to devote a significant portion of time of up to 10 years to training about practical experiments and acquiring specialized theories and must-needed skills from univeristy. Secondly, this trend might be a great way to save time for job recruiters. Compared to formal academic candidates who are likely ready to start working, employees may have to spend time on training non-academic applicants how to work properly. Thererfore, this saved time can be used in other valuable ways.

However, I think that this is a negative development as both academic and non-academic job hunters should receive equal chance in the recruitment process. This is because many individuals previously decide to work right after graduation instead of starting tertiary educations in order to cultivate hands-on experiences and sharpen life skills before entering academic workforce. On top of that, after a long time of working in a real work environment, people are also capable of doing most assigned tasks without a formal education. The typical example can be seen in the case of Steve Jobs, a founder of Apple, who was the most successful person in the technology industry without holding any formal education in this field.

In conclusion, this trend is attributed to two main reasons menioned above, and I believe that this is a negative tendency as everyone should received equal prioritized attention when applying for jobs.