Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centres with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, there has been a growing trend towards older geneterations opting for nursing homes, rather than living with grown -up children. While this development offers certain benefits, such as provision of proper healthcare and security, as well as reduction of the burden placed on the family, I firmly believe it is largely negative due to weakened family bonds and social isolation.

One compelling reason why this development is highly beneficial is that it significantly affacts the health state of the elderly. This is primarily due to the fact that medical supervision and daily assitance are provided in retirement homes, which not only improves the physical state of the person, but also provides individual approach to the members of the community. The majority of senior citizens need constant supervision and surveillance, which is problematic for adult children leading a hectic lifestyle, thus, residing in care homes provides the opportunity to approach every elderly properly,resulting in longer life expectancy. To cite an example, older people with mobility issues may find it easier to live in special nurseries with professional caregivers, who will assist them in the right way. Another major aspect of this trend is reduced burden on the family members. Many children struggle to support the senior generation of the household both financially and physically. Hence, if older members of the family move into retirement communities, the difficulties placed on the family members will diminish. Consequently, older generations choosing to accommodate in nursing homes leads to proper health supervision and alliviates the family’s burden.

Admittedly, this trend may pose several merits, however, I am inclined to believe that the negative impact caused by this development are more significant. One of the main drawbacks arising from the elderly moving into care homes is developing a sense of isolation and loneliness. This can be largely attributed to the lack of family support and constant communication. Another crucial downside of accomodating in nurseries is the deterioration of cultural values. Isolating from the family can not only lead to destruction of family bond, but also exacerbate the health condition of the older member of the household. For instance, children start to be less integrated in the life of their elderly family members, rarely visiting or socializing with them, which contributes to emotional detachment. Hence, settling into care homes may result in mental struggles among the elderly, and cause family breakdown.

All factors considered, it is reasonable to state that while the elderly moving into retirement homes has become increasingly common due to its obvious benefits, wich are constat healthcare provision and less responsibilities for the family members, I am firmly of the opinion that the negative effects – mental issues and loss of family values – are much more serious.