Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centres with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advent of retirement communities and centers the amount of older people who choose to live there rises with each new year. Therefore, many retired men and women don’t spend much of their free time with their kids and grandchildren and don’t live with them. In the following paragraphs, I shall talk about the causes of this tendency and possible solutions to this issue.

Senior citizens frequently have to deal with such problems as loneliness, disabilities and seeking attention. In many cases nursery houses provide help for them. That allows older people to spend their leisure time with their peers, communicate or play with them. Nurses in the retirement communities take care of them as they have to make sure that the elderly take their medicine on time or wash them up if they need. Frequently, this lifestyle can ease their lives, especially if the individual has mental or physical issues. All of these conveniences provoke adults to take their parents to the special centres, as they want to focus on their job or their own family. They tend to think that this would help both themselves and their mother or father. The long stay in the nursery houses may create distance between child and parents, as they may feel neglected and betrayed.

Some of the solutions that can be suggested are effortless but efficient. First of all, simple daily calls and visits on weekends can enlighten as much as older people’s mood as their adult kids and grandchildren. This shows their support, attentiveness and maintaining the parent-kid relationship. Another way to solve the issue is to hire a personal nurse. It would allow the parent to stay in their child’s house but the adult wouldn’t need to worry about their mother or father’s needs, as they are always assured that the elder is taken care of.

Conclusively, sometimes the nursery houses and such facilities can greatly help both older people and their kids. However, if there are possible problems with their staying, it is necessary to remember that they are your parents and it is your time to take care of and show attention, so they can feel better and loved.