Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Today technology has changed how people interact with each other. I believe the biggest effects it has had on relationships are that it has reduced in-person interaction and that it has led to the development of online relationships. This has been a positive development because often cyber relationships are more meaningful than in-person relationships.

Technology has reduced face-to-face interaction. For instance, it is not uncommon to see two people sitting at the same table in a restaurant, checking their phones every 30 seconds, and only talking to each other occasionally.Technology has also given rise to online relationships. Nowadays anyone that has access to the Internet and computers can create a free Facebook or Twitter account and build their social networks on these platforms no matter where on the planet they reside. Take, for example, Chinese teenagers who like collecting insects. On the Internet, they can find and connect with others who share this particular hobby, even if those people live in the Amazon rainforest.

This should be seen as a positive trend because cyberspace relationships can be very meaningful. Today it is very common that those in a person’s immediate circle do not support what they pursue. For example, many street artists are looked down on by their family members. Fortunately, Facebook groups give them the power to build their own communities where they can support each other. The inspiration and motivation they obtain there can drive them to work hard to move toward their goals.

In conclusion, technology has reduced in-person interaction and has meanwhile enabled online relationships. This has definitely been a positive trend because online relationships are often more satisfying and meaningful than face-to-face ones.