Nowadays, there are many incidents where young people have become involved with criminal activities. Some people say that young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. How far do you agree or disagree to this statement?

In the present, it is seen that the young generations have become engaged in criminal activities. In terms of punishment, some believe that they should be punished the same as adults by the law. I disagree with this thought of statement. Crime shouldn’t go unpunished. But, in the case of the young generation, they should get the chance to make changes in their habit such as drugs.

Given that for involved with wrong deeds, young people should be treated like adults, I don’t think that it will be a wise decision for the young generation. In today’s world, most of the young people are addicted to drugs. To have drugs passionately, they commit crimes to get money. According to the law of any country in terms of committing crimes, the punishment is to put the guilty one behind bars for a couple of months or years. For instance, let’s assume that for involvement with criminal activities, the punishment is 6 years of imprisonment for young people. After 6 years of imprisonment, they will come out and again will take the drug. Thus, the punishment can’t stop the criminal activities of the young ones.

However, treating young people’s crimes the same as adults will not stop the crime. For doing a crime, they should be punished, but in a way that they can transform themselves into a good human. Therefore, the government may take some measures for the young generation such as involving them in social activities, providing them with good jobs according to their skills, etc. so that they will never think of doing crime again. In addition, families also have to take care of their young children and give them the motivation to be around good people.

In conclusion, the young people are our future generation. I think that giving punishment as same as the adult isn’t a solution. Making the realization that they are doing wrong and showing their value in society can be a way to stop crime.