Nowadays, there are many incidents where young people have become involved with criminal activities. Some people say that young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. How far do you agree or disagree to this statement?

I believe in certain situations this can be done; however, a blanket application might be unfair. This essay will discuss my perspective in detail and provide a logical conclusion.

The primary factor to support this is that it can act as a deterrent inducing fear in the minds of the youth. As a result, the chances of them being involved in a criminal activity can decrease significantly. For instance, as per a study conducted in the USA, juveniles under the threat of harsh retribution usually refrain from participating in illegal actions. Another factor is that it can be socially beneficial as youngsters are the future of society. If their inclination towards crime decreases due to regressive punishment, it can eventually build a safe environment.

However, unfiltered imposition of such a norm can be unfair. First of all, it cannot be ignored that many children are involved in such actions without any clear idea of the consequences. Therefore, punishing them brutally might have an irreversible negative impact on their psychology spoiling their entire life. Apart from this, some children commit crimes in dire situations of need such as poverty and hunger. For example, multiple cases of theft and stealing on teenagers in Indian courts are for lifting food items and books. If they are reprimanded severely for such cases, it might turn them into hardened criminals/repeat offenders instead of helping them reform.

To conclude, the severity of punishment for children like adults is a matter of debate. In my opinion, this can be done in certain situations as it can maintain the right amount of fear and create a crime-free society with time. However, I believe that this cannot be applied to every juvenile crime as this can negatively impact their minds leaving very little scope for turning back.