One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

Traffic congestion is one major problem as a result of urbanization. This is an issue because it leads to various problems like air and sound pollution and delays in commuting time. It is vital to tackle this issue because it will worsen the situation of global warming; it also has mental effects on the driver and negative impacts on the environment. In this essay, we will discover the causes, issues, and the solution for this problem.

To begin with, a major cause of traffic congestion is the shortage of public transportation. This is an issue because since there is no direct metro or buses to workplaces, this means commuters have to interchange with other buses and underground to their destination. This is an issue because the time needed for the employee to arrive their working place will be longer and it will lower the efficiency and performance of the worker since more time will be needed to exchange another public transport. Dealing with this issue involves the bus company opening new routes or add additional departures on existing bus routes; as for underground companies, they could take the same action as bus companies by increasing the frequency of their existing train lines.

Another significant cause of traffic congestion is that everyone owns a car nowadays. This is a problem due to the connivence of owning a car which increases the usage of a road, and this leads to traffic congestion when it comes to peak hours. This is an issue because as mentioned earlier, it will lower efficiency as the time taken for commuting will be longer; this also leads to a negative psychological effect on the driver like road rage; this is dangerous to the driver and the road; in the least bad case, there might be verbal assaults between drivers but in the worse situation, it could cause potential traffic accident. This matter requires immediate solutions by limiting the usage of cars on certain roads in peak time, allowing drivers to look for alternative routes. Encouraging people to take public transportation is another way to address this issue, this allows public transport companies to be more profitable and lower the emission of carbon dioxide from cars as there will be less cars; introducing bus lanes simultaneously will also be helpful as buses won’t need to be involved in the congestion.

In conclusion, traffic congestion is caused by over ownership of cars and shortage of public transportation. These are issues because the time needed will be longer, hence lowering the efficiency of the worker, but the most important of all, it has psychological effects which could make the situation worsening. In my opinion, people should take more public transport so that there will be less car on the road. Just use them on holidays and weekend