Online education has become increasingly popular in recent years. While it offers several benefits, it also has some drawbacks. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this global era of advanced period, we can see a increasing number of universities are now proceeding into online courses more and more. As a farm believer of old school real time education, my vote goes on for the fact that, it is more of a matter of disadvantage than advantage.

Firstly, the world is a place of open learning and we all are welcomed to learn whatever we want to on anywhere. Starting from youtube to ed-tech platforms, it is assimilated everywhere on internet. Meanwhile to me, university still holds a sacred place which is no less than a temple. The conversations, discussion and debates student does at university on a big lecture hall with a professor who probably has taught half of their life, would not be exchanged by any form of learning whatsoever on-screen.

In addition to that, we can see that university is also a form of experience. As we look back on our life with a glimpse of our eye, our every commute to the campus holds golden memories which are irreversible. These memories are something we are gifted upon and are to be cherished all our life.

I do understand that distant learning for everyone creates a level playing field for everyone all around the world who are keen to learning. In my defense, I would like to say that, universities should provide both the options for their students that whether they would opt out for the online educations or in person.

To conclude, it is evident that the world of education must shift to virtual learning. But to hold on to the nuance of face to face learning and it’s beauty should be our takeaway of the day.