Online games are becoming increasingly violent and addictive. What problems do they cause and how can these issues be addressed?

It is undeniable the fact, that video games are creating problems with mental health, frequently causing dependence and violence in human’s behavior as well as disruption in studies. On the other hand, there are various measures, such as parental monitoring and time limitations and promoting awareness of negative effect of online games, that could mitigate the situation.

There are two main negative aspects of this difficulties. One of the major issues, is the increased aggression and dependence in young players. Which means, that the most children who spend large amount of time in front of computer, frequently, leads to cruelty and violence due to obsession. For example, games similar to Call of Duty, triggers more irritable prolonged exposure to aggressive attitudes in games. In addition, games often lead to disruption in studies and poor academic performance, leading individuals to neglect on their work or study, to reach in-game achievements

However, there are various solutions that could be taken by parents and individuals to resolve the problem described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be raising awareness of harms caused by virtual entertainment, by special educating lessons and methods. Secondly, parental monitoring and time limitations in youngster’s device, which would significantly shorten the screen usage. A successful example of this, is Family link application, which is accessible and allows parent to ensure appropriate content.

To sum up, disregarding these evident problems, several contributions would be taken to solve the problem of computer games.