Online shopping is increasing dramatically. What are the effects on the environment and kinds of jobs?

Recently, online shopping has been growing sharply and has had various impacts not only on the environment but also on types of jobs. From my perspective, the effects of behind-screen shopping have varied.

Currently, online shopping is encouraging and growing e-commerce jobs. In fact, some companies are addressing online jobs as a safe income in changeable circumstances. For example, many years ago, during the coronavirus pandemic, companies sold their products by using online websites, resulting in the goods most probably not stagnating. Additionally, the second job, which might be increased in demand, is delivery drivers. For instance, due to increasing the number of purchases, companies employ a substantial number of drivers in order to deliver goods. which leads to that job being able to be raised.

Regarding the environment, overconsumption would be one of the negative impacts of online shopping; cloth industries, for example, are selling low-quality cloth for people, which is leading to a consumption of environmental items. Secondly, the increasing congestion and traffic pollution. For example, more delivery trucks on the road can increase congestion as well as contribute to the consumption of fuel. which leads to increasing carbon emissions in the air, resulting in raising contamination; therefore, causing high air pollution.

In conclusion, online shopping has a considerable influence on the environment and jobs, increasing e-commerce jobs and delivery jobs, while the environment is affected by overconsumption of environmental items and increasing congestion and traffic pollution.