Online translations will one day make learning foreign languages obsolete. What is your opinion?

With the fast-paced society, development focuses on technology systems in which online translations are widely accepted by citizens, leading to concerns about the old-fashioned of learning foreign languages. I strongly believe that online translation tools, while helpful, are unlikely to make learning different languages obsolete.

First and foremost, despite translation applications being convenient and fast engaging, the technologies implemented are not fully practical for daily life. In fact, some tools often struggle with using suitable words in different contexts leading to misunderstandings during communication among individuals who don’t speak the same languages when using translation apps. Indeed, communication issues are essential, especially in some universities that are combined with international students. For example, students from dissimilar nations might be working together; therefore, they will use translation apps in order to find ways to communicate with each other when doing teamwork or projects in their lessons at their school. Thus, translating in the wrong context can lead to bad results in their group assignment and overall score.

Another argument proving that learning a foreign language cannot become extinct or is no longer popular is that learning a foreign language is not just about translating, but it also helps connect individuals with each other. Many people choose to learn a new language not only for academic purposes for their work and study life but also to foster deep understanding and improve knowledge and culture about separate nations through languages. Furthermore, communicating directly in another language can help build trust in ways that translation tools might not capture.

In conclusion, learning a new language transcends mere translation because it involves a deep understanding that enhances connections between individuals. This rich, interpersonal aspect cannot be replaced by online translation apps.