Ordinary people try to copy famous people either reading magazines or watching t.v. why do they do this? do you think it is a good idea to copy famous people. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a heated debate in society regarding the reasons why common people follow trends dictated by famous individuals and the potential sociological implications of this phenomenon. As far as I am concerned, this is a natural human behaviour, and it can bring both benefits and drawbacks. This essay will elucidate the arguments behind my viewpoint.

The primary reasons for why ordinary individuals enjoy copying influential people concerns the community people identify with. First and foremost, particularly young individuals have the intrinsic need to participate in identity groups led by key opinion leaders. For example, research has shown that adolescents usually follow internet influencers on social media that are closely related to their personality traits. Moreover, success stories of famous people can be a source of inspiration for normal individuals who seek to improve their lives. For instance, elite athletes, such Neymar or Messi, inspire millions of young new soccer fans to practice the sport.

Conversely, the positive or negative connotations of this social phenomenon needs to be judged on a case-by-case basis. In some cases, it is widely understood that popular individuals can exert a role model example, positively influencing the public. To exemplify, Elvis Presley, one of the most famous rock singers of all time, was vaccinated in an advert for the United States Ministry of Health, encouraging millions of people worldwide to also seek the vaccine. However, the weaponization of fame can threaten the public order. A pertinent example can be drawn from Brazil, where an emerging music style called Carioca Funk has incentivized criminal activities, and has been detrimental to young audiences.

In conclusion, the eagerness to participate in communities is the main reason people try to mimic precedents set by influential individuals. However, it is imperative to closely monitor these trends as some can have positive implications, while others can pose significant risks to the fabric of society.