Patriotism can sometimes be harmful. To what extent do you agree?

It is generally known that patriotism become a big topic today. In modern society, there is a widespread perception that it is necessary to make people patriotic owing to the positive influence. Personally, I hold the view that citizens may receive benefits from patriotism, but we should not force the people to anticipate extreme pride.

It is undoubted that patriotism have positive effects on citizens’ development. One of the potent advantages is that national pride play a significant role in the development of juveniles. Particularly, patriotism foster the good behaviour of students. Secondly patriotic events help students to foster good habits and provide them with the opportunity to make friends. Looking into details, they are more likely to work efficiently with colleagues in future workplaces.

Apart from the practical advantages of patriotism expressed above, extreme pride do not. From another angle, some patriots do bad crimes thus, they have neither interest nor motivation to follow the pease. In this case, patriotism become a waste of time and money. In addition, forcing every people to hate other countries adds a burden on society. As a result, the efficiency of world peace is reduced.

To summarise this essay, i admit that there are some visible advantages of patriotism today, however, I hold the view that extreme pride should not be compulsory and it should be individual’s choice when it comes to love their country.