People are getting news and latest updates from social networks well ahead from the news channels. Many people say that news stations will soon be completely replaced. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, people receive information from multiple sources, even before the news stations broadcast it. People believe that the news channels will cease to exist in the near future. Through this essay, I will express my thoughts and also explain why I think that would not be the case.

News channels have been an integral part of middle-class households since the time television became popular. In a way, one could say that the news broadcast, the print media, and the radio have been the conventional methods of getting the latest updates compared to the social media platforms, which gained popularity in recent years.

Furthermore, like every field of life that is getting technologically upgraded, the news stations also experience that shift. For instance, almost a decade ago, the anchors on the news channels would sit idle with a laptop in front of them and read out the headlines on the latest updates related to health, education, sports or a calamity. But now, the news broadcast media have sought to use 3-D virtual and motion pictures, which has eventually started bringing a more realistic experience to the viewers. In addition, this helps the public understand the impact and importance of certain events happening across the world.

Moreover, it is important that people understand the fact that the purpose of social media platforms is entertainment more than information, which is the USP of news channels. The recent experiences with such platforms about the spread of misinformation leave us with concerns about the source reliability and validity. For example, some Instagram pages claim that they share reliable news; however, upon further research, it is found that they are part of the yellow journalism and spread fake information, and the public falls prey to the clickbait thumbnails.

To conclude, I believe that news channels are as important as they previously were, and people should also try to verify the validity of the information circulated in social networks. The technological advancements and the upgradations in the news broadcast would definitely keep them ahead of the social networks in the future.