People are getting news and latest updates from social networks well ahead from the news channels. Many people say that news stations will soon be completely replaced. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it can be seen that most of the people use social media for various purposes. One of the primary usages of social media is to get trending updates and news from various sources. While some people see social media as a boon for getting day-to-day updates, others consider it as a threat for the news stations. However, I do not completely agree with the statement that social media will completely replace news stations.

To begin with, news channels were once the primary source of getting information about topics like politics, cinema and sports. But, with the development of technologies and the increased usage of mobile phones among the people, it can be seen that the users of social networks like Instagram, Facebook and X (Twitter) get news and updates faster than the reporters of news channels. On top of that, the attention span of people has become increasingly diminished. As a result of that, people more likely prefer social media which presents the news in seconds to television channels that take hours to present a piece of information.

As far as originality and truth is concerned, news channels provide more trust-worthy information than the social media. Because many users of social platforms like Instagram, create anonymous profiles and spread false information. Hence, the news received in those platforms are not usually fully trusted by the people. Similarly, there is a minority of people who still do not know how to use social media. They would prefer watching the news programmes in T.V. channels. In conclusion, considering all the points, I would say that social networks will not completely replace the news channels, but some people might prefer using the platforms for getting instant updates.