People are living longer than ever before. Some believe this is a positive development, while others think it creates problems for society. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the number of elderly people is increasing. Some people argue in favor of this idea as the healthcare system will develop and experienced workers’ number will rise. I strongly oppose to this notion because this trend will lead to increased living costs and unemployment among younger people.

On the one hand, improving standards of living may cause some benefits for the government such as experienced and long-term workers. Experienced employees can be useful for a country’s economy because they are less likely to make mistakes. Furthermore, as the number of elderly people increases, they may face more illnesses. For example, the major number of illnesses like cancer and diabetes happens a lot among the elderly people. An increase in disease cases leads to the enhancement of the healthcare system.

On the other hand, if the elderly population increases, this can cause high payments for living. For example, the costs of house products and healthcare will increase. In addition, while experienced employees can bring profit to the economy, this may lead to unemployment among young people. As elderly people take over jobs, the young are forced to either work for low salaries or migrate for employment.

In conclusion, while developments in living can be useful in some cases such as improvement in healthcare or increased number of long-term workers, I strongly believe this is a negative development as high payments for living or problems with getting jobs among young people.