People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, or knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undeniably, people have different reasons for attending college or university depend on their personal goals. However, the couple of reasons that people often expect from studying in the university are career opportunities with in-depth technical knowledge and expanding personal connections with people who have similar passions.

Initially, people attend college or university because it provides career opportunities, especially in learning advanced knowledge. In specialized professions, they require in-depth technical knowledge that cannot be taught in lower educational level. Furthermore, some occupations, including a doctor and an engineer, also require an educational degree as a qualification. It is not only specialized knowledge, but it also requires training and controlling the quality throughout their university studies, to ensure they are truly capable of pursuing that career. For example, an engineer has to understand physics and math proficiently for accurate engineering calculations to avoid mistakes when constructing the building.

On the other hand, it is also an opportunity to expand their connection, whether finding general relationships or professional connections to work with. Due to the faculty being a collection of people who have similar motivation or passion for those subjects, it will be a very effective way to find people who are interested in the same things for further opportunities. For instance, a business owner is likely to attend a business administrator class because there will be other business owners, and with this connection, they could support each other in their business. Moreover, the connection in the university can be guaranteed as a high-quality connection because they screen people through various tests and qualifications to ensure the quality of their students.

Eventually, attending college or university provides advantages, especially in personal growth. Nevertheless, many people still cannot decide which career they want to pursue or even the right path that aligns with their goal. So the university alumni are playing a pivotal role by guiding other people from actual experiences and learning from studying at the university, helping others to design both educational and professional paths to reach their goals.